IN: News


Competition winners announced at an exclusive event


The PPC Imaginarium has a unique approach in its financial offering, mentorship, workshops, exhibition opportunities (including Design Indaba 2015 and First Thursdays) as well as artist’s promotion in the media as well as online exposure and sales.

The first Imaginarium exhibition took place at the University of Johannesburg’s Gallery with more that 90 finalists selected nationally, from a short list of over 400 submissions.

Winners of each category:

Jewellery Winner: Chris Van Rensburg

Chris van Rensburg

Runner-up: Sunet Ferreira Merit Award: Denise Andrews

Architecture Winner: Ayanda Ntsingana Runner-up: Phelelani Mthembu Merit Award: Taswald Pillay

Industrial Design Winners: Martin Bolton and Craig Tyndalll Runners-up: Bronwyn Furno & Riaan Coetzee

Sculpture Winner: Mlonishwa Chiliza

Mlonishwa Chiliza

Runner-up: Lee Burgers Merit Award: Karma Bosman

Fashion Winner: Bokang Lehabe Runner-up: Mishka Lombardi Merit Award: Luxolo Jita

Film Winners: Anri and Andre Coetzee Runners-up: Roland Reed and Rowen Smith Merit Award: Sumaiya Bhayat

The Awards also hosted educational talks on Innovation and Creativity in association with the Museum of African Design (MOAD). University and school students were in attendance, where Daniel van der Merwe, PPC Imaginarium custodian and Dion Chang, trend analyst spoke about the role and place of innovation and creativity in today’s society.

If you were not able to attend the workshops and educational talks, you can access the slides here:

The super jury panel:

Architecture: Mokena Makeka, Architect, academic, founder Makeka Design Lab . Prof Ora Joubert, Architect, academic and author.

Industrial Design: Adriaan Hugo, practising designer, founder & partner Doctor&Misses Katy Taplin, practising designer, co-partner Doctor&Misses

Fashion Design: Tiaan Nagel, fashion designer, editor Sunday Times Lifestyle- Fashion

Jewellery: Verna Jooste, Academic Stellenbosch , jeweller, curator : Design Indaba Cari-Mari Wilsenach, academic TUT, jeweller

Sculpture: Dianne Victor, academic Pta Univ, artist Kay Potts, artist Ledelle Moe, artist, sculptor, academic

Film: Wessel van Huysteen, film producer, founder Tinrage Films, academic Big Fish Beathur Mgoza Baker, film director, independent producer

Chairperson & Convener: Daniel van der Merwe, architect, PPC

Observers: Stephen Hobbs, Curator and Nandi Hilliard, Association of Arts

Related Articles