IN: News

The PPC Imaginarium Awards Announces A Record Number Of National Finalists

South Africa’s most supportive art and design competition for emerging creatives, the PPC Imaginarium Awards, has once again outstripped expectations with a dazzling selection of concrete pieces by upcoming local talent. A record number of finalists has been selected for 2018, testimony to the increasing quality of the entries. The regional judges chose a total of 62 national finalists from 302 regional entrants, topping last year’s number, which saw 55 chosen from a total of 869 regional entries.


The list of 2018 finalists, classified per category (excluding architecture), is as follows:



Marcel Traub

Christian Botha

Kenan Petersen

Marco Ranieri

Dylan Smit

Anton van Reenen

Giovanni Zambri

Yolandie Alberts, Yvette Jansen van Nieuwenhuizen & Zelise Yssel

Jacobus Smit



Adheema Davis & Juan Miguel Dorta Ruiz

Wonder Shangase

Tangeni Kambudu

Marnus Havenga

Ryan & Ingrid Roberts

Carine Bothma

Geoffrey Hunt

Claire Manicom

Bathusi Maqina

Dora Prevost

Esther Simonis

Chris Soal

Glen Cook

Nonkululeko Mbatha

Franli Meintjes

Anna Maria Morsner

Donné Malan



Ayesha Abrahams & Rayyaan Sirkhotte

Nangamso Dana

Thembalethu Zama Mtshungwana

Gabrielle Foulis

Janine Potts

James Barrett-Poulsen

Michaela Ovadia & Cleo Spiller

Sonja Zytkow

Carmi Human



Elmarie Burger

Fang Yu (Michelle) Liao

Chien-Ming Kuhne

Tarryn Gordon

Aleks Ashton

Mercia Beukes

Myles Day

Lumka Dhlamini

Cara Du Plessis

Nicole Henderson

Tokologo Kotu

Eric Loubser

Liz Loubser

Lebogang Mabusela

Daniella Sachs

Khanya Mthethwa

Philisa Zibi

Sonja Zytkow

Tahlia Berelowitz

Karen Bhengu (3x entries)

Madeli Viljoen


FILM (4)

Sunali Narshai

Phumulani Ntuli

Monica Blignaut

Theodore Molebatsi


Unlike in previous years, entries in the Architecture category will be showcased and judged at the 2018 Architecture ZA conference, replacing the prestigious Des Baker Award for outstanding work by an architecture student. “The winner will be seen as the best design student currently enrolled for a degree in architecture,” says PPC Imaginarium Director Daniel van der Merwe.

A panel of national judges will announce the overall winner, category winners and runners-up at a gala event, to be held at the UJ Art Gallery on the evening of 4 April 2018. The national judging panel includes Mary Sibande and Daniel van der Merwe, in addition to renowned local artist Stephen Hobbs and UJ Art Gallery curator Annali Dempsey, bringing a wealth of industry know-how to the judging of South Africa’s top art and design contest.



Related Articles